James A. Rawley Award

Award Description

The James A. Rawley Award is awarded to a distinguished book dealing with secession and/or the sectional crisis published over a two-year period. The award will be given at the annual meeting in 2021 in New Orleans for a book published in 2019 or 2020. Copies should be mailed to the following committee members no later than March 1, 2021.

2021 Award Committee

Stephen Kantrowitz, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Chair
2713 Oakridge Ave.
Madison, WI 53704

Kate Masur
714 Forest Ave.
Evanston, IL 60202

Manisha Sinha
Draper Chair in American History
University of Connecticut
Department of History
STORRS, CT 06269-4103

Past Winners

2019 - R. J. M. Blackett
The Captive's Quest for Freedom: Fugitive Slaves, the 1850 Fugitive Slave Law, and the Politics of Slavery, Cambridge University Press, 2018

2017 - Manisha Sinha
The Slave's Cause: A History of Abolition, Yale University Press, 2016

2015 - Michael Woods
Emotional and Sectional Conflict in the Antebellum United States, Cambridge University Press, 2014

2013 - Andre Fleche
The Revolution of 1861: The American Civil War in the Age of Nationalist Conflict, University of North Carolina Press, 2012

2011 - Stanley Harrold
Border War: Fighting over Slavery Before the Civil War, University of North Carolina Press, 2010

2009 - John Ashworth
Slavery, Capitalism, and Politics in the Antebellum Republic: The Coming of the Civil War, 1850-1861, Cambridge University Press, 2008

2007 - Eric H. Walter
William Lowndes Yancey and the Coming of the Civil War, University of North Carolina Press, 2006