Jack Temple Kirby Award

Award Description

The Jack Temple Kirby Award was established in 2010 to commemorate the scholarship and SHA service of Jack Kirby, who was the current SHA President when he died in August 2009. In keeping with Professor Kirby's scholarly contributions to southern history, the Kirby Prize will be awarded to authors of journal articles in either southern agricultural or environmental history over a two-year period. The award will be made in odd-numbered years for an article published during the previous two years. Submissions can be made by either the article authors or journal editors. The sixth award will be presented at the annual meeting in New Orleans in 2021 for an article published in 2019 or 2020. Off-prints or articles should be submitted to Manager, Southern Historical Association by June 1, 2021.

2021 Award Committee

Joan Cashin, Ohio State University, Chair
Timothy Silver, Appalachian State University
Albert Way, Kennesaw State University

Past Winners

2019 - Caroline Peyton
“Kentucky’s Atomic Graveyard: Maxey Flats and Environmental Inequity in Rural America,"Kentucky Historical Register (2017).

2017 - Alec Fazackerley Hickmott
"Black Land, Black Capital: Rural Development in the Shadows of the Sunbelt South, 1969-1976," Journal of African American History (Fall 2016).

2015 - T. Robert Hart
"The Lowcountry Landscape: Politics, Preservation, and the Santee-Cooper Project," Environmental History 18 (January 2013).

2013 - Chris Evans
"The Plantation Hoe: The Rise and Fall of an Atlantic Commodity, 1650-1850," William & Mary Quarterly (January 2012).

2011 - James Giesen
"'The Truth about the Boll Weevil': The Nature of Planter Power in the Mississippi Delta," Environmental History 14 (October 2009).